Ellie's Blog

Waffles and Other Assignments

Snow Day

on January 26, 2014

As soon as I wake up, I go to my window.

I had heard the sleet hitting my windows all night. I couldn’t wait to catch a glimpse of the first snow in ages.

My window reveals a roof covered in white, all sparkly and clear. I open my window and run my fingers across the frozen roof.

I had hoped for snow. I got ice.

My breath hangs in the air like an unanswered question, and I finally close the window after the icicles on my neighbors roof start to drip.

I am cold now. My pajamas are not made for cold weather. I grab my enormous blanket from my bed and walked out to Tess’s room.

She was still asleep, but not for long. I sat on her bed and stared at her.

She woke up.

I told her about the ice and showed her the window that displayed our trampoline, covered in white, and sitting in a field of ice that is our backyard.

We wanted to go outside to try to find the icicles that we loved so much. I wrapped my blanket around my sweater and put on my shoes. I opened the door and go to our rock garden thing that has been covered in ice.

The frozen grass crunched beneath my feet. It was a satisfying sound.

The rocks were covered in a thin layer of ice, and were slippery. The frozen rain were in puddles I could slide on.

I lost the feeling in my toes when I decided to go back to the house.


4 Responses to “Snow Day”

  1. Mrs. Kriese says:

    “The frozen grass crunched beneath my feet. It was a satisfying sound.”

    This is my favorite part of what you wrote. It takes me back to the snow days of my childhood, and the satisfying sound of the frozen grass crunching beneath my middle-school feet and beneath the paws of my dog as she followed me outside on our ice adventures.

  2. tessp430 says:

    Ah, yes. The rock garden thing. I nearly broke my foot slipping on the icy rocks.

  3. tessp430 says:

    Also, why is Horror the biggest tag?

  4. Alexandra L says:

    Great Job! I love how you used so many descriptive words. I could picture exactly what everything looks like. Does it snow a lot where you live? Keep up the great work!

    Reply back
    http://kidblog.org/Rm103Classof2014/author/c644e9bd-514c-4526-80be-57628d040f23/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar